20 January 2016

Mentor Graphics Announces 26th Annual PCB Technology Leadership Awards Winners

WILSONVILLE, Ore., January 20, 2016—Continuing its tradition of promoting and recognizing printed circuit board (PCB) design excellence, Mentor Graphics Corporation (NASDAQ: MENT) today announced the winners of its 26th annual PCB Technology Leadership Awards. Started in 1988, this program is the longest running competition of its kind in the electronic design automation (EDA) industry. It recognizes engineers and designers who use innovative methods and design tools to address today’s complex PCB systems design challenges and produce industry-leading products.

Prominent experts in the PCB industry judged entries from around the world in six categories that represent a wide variety of industries:

  • Consumer electronics and handheld
  • Industrial control, instrumentation, security and medical
  • Military and aerospace
  • Computers, blade and servers, memory systems
  • Telecom, network controllers, line cards
  • Transportation and automotive

The expert judges included Michael R. Creeden, San Diego PCB CEO and founder; Gary Ferrari, FTG Circuits technical support director; Rick Hartley, RHartley Enterprises principal engineer; Steve Herbstman, SHLC founder and lead designer; Happy Holden, Gentex Corporation (retired); Andy Kowalewski, Metamelko LP senior interconnect designer; Pete Waddell, president of UP Media and publisher of Printed Circuit Design & Fab/Circuits Assembly Magazine; and Susy Webb, Fairfield Nodal senior PCB designer.

2015 Technology Leadership Award Winners

Category: Best Overall Design

  • Company: Abaco Systems Ltd.
  • Design team: Jim Rose, Zeshan Hussain, Eric Mills, Peter Woodruff
  • Using: Xpedition® Enterprise

Category:  Computers, Blade & Servers, Memory Systems

  • 1st place: Adcom
  • Design Team:  Moshe Frid, Elad Marciano, Alon Kukliansky
  • Using: Xpedition Enterprise

  • 2nd place: Seagate Technology LLC
  • Design team: Keith MacLean, Andre’ Dutko
  • Using: Xpedition Enterprise

Category: Consumer Electronics & Handhelds

  • 1st place: Qualcomm Technologies Inc.
  • Design team: Bryan Selby, Scott Moyes
  • Using: Xpedition Enterprise

  • 2nd place:  LG Electronics
  • Design team: Kyu-seon Ahn, Sang-geun Kim, Sang-don Kim
  • Using: Xpedition Enterprise

Category: Industrial Control, Instrumentation, Security & Medical

  • 1st place: Keysight Technologies
  • Design team: Michael Villaruel, Ryan Carlino, Steve Draving, Don Logelin, Lewis Dove, Nick Fernandez, Jeanne Snow
  • Using: Xpedition Enterprise

  • 2nd place: Sintecs BV
  • Design team: Tom Berends, Paul ten Wolde, Wouter Stapper, Henk Mengerink, Maarten Tettero, Andrei Tuturou
  • Using: Xpedition Enterprise

Category: Military & Aerospace

  • 1st place: BAE Systems – Electronic Systems – Rochester (UK)
  • Design team: Tim Chapman, Tim Rotter, Steve Mann, Peter Frid, Jack Silson
  • Using: Xpedition Enterprise

  • 2nd place: ASELSAN MGEO
  • Design team: Umur Akıncı, Cenk Erim, Ahmet Mert, Emre Akdemir, Serap Sarıkavak, Recep Kızılkaya, Alper Akca, Kazım Yumbul, Cihan Aslan, Ozan Tekdur, Seda Karatekin, Sezer Yıldız, Halil İbrahim Yaşlak
  • Using: Xpedition Enterprise

Category: Telecom, Network Controllers, Line Cards

  • 1st place: Coriant Oy
  • Design team: Sauli Kunnas, Hannu Saarikoski, Paavo Perälä, Sami Jokinen, Jyrki Vuorinen, Jycke Sulka-aho, Leo Haapavuo, Jyrki Nyyssönen, Päivi Vallin, Juha Ahvenainen
  • Using: Xpedition Enterprise

  • 2nd place: Nokia
  • Design team: Markus Välkky, Olli-Antti Laine, Pekka Kähkölä, Ari Oinas, Jarmo Leskelä, Janne Toppila
  • Using: Xpedition Enterprise

Category: Transportation & Automotive

  • 1st place: Visteon Corp.
  • Design team: Sadeesh Ramachandran, Nagarajan Mani, Ankita Karambelkar, Srikumar
  • Using: Xpedition Enterprise

  • 2nd place: Visteon Corp.
  • Design Team: Sadeesh Ramachandran, Niyazahmed Attar, Nagarajan Mani, Sowrirajan Senthil Kumar
  • Using: Xpedition Enterprise

About the Technology Leadership Awards Contest
The TLA contest is open to any designs created with Mentor Graphics® PCB solutions. Judging is based on design complexity and overcoming associated challenges, such as small form factor, high-speed protocols, multi-discipline team collaboration, advanced PCB fabrication technologies and design-cycle time reduction.

(Mentor Graphics, Mentor, and Xpedition are registered trademarks of Mentor Graphics Corporation. All other company or product names are the registered trademarks or trademarks of their respective owners.)

Contact principal

Larry Toda